Another date night…Chicago

20190124_185418_1548378247611_001Yes my readers, we have had 3 dinner and entertainment dates this month. Sorry I’m not including the times when we go to the movies and dine out or the weekly Trivia at the local pub. I mean dress a bit more and go out, and this time it was all the way to Chicago.

All the way, well, it’s about 1-2 hours south of us and so much depends on time of day and traffic.  We were offered the chance through our local Parks and Rec department to get bused round trip and theatre…HAMILTON!! No way were we going to pass that up for $150/person.  Himself liked it because he didn’t have to drive.  It all was great, and if you have the chance to see the show, by all means do it. It’s one of those go-several-times shows, like Wicked, Cats, Book of Mormon, Les Miserables, Phantom… so many more!! You get what I’m saying.

We loaded ourselves on the bus and while a bit tight in the leg/knee room, we survived and when the driver is in traffic and you wonder, well, don’t. Those folk know how to get you there on time.  Mind you the bus left about 2:30-2:45pm and the show started at 7:30.  But, ya never can tell with traffic. We arrived with two hours to spare.  IT WAS FREEZING, not untypical downtown with all the buildings, but still I insisted on a walk around the block to uncreak my legs. Phew! That felt A LOT better, and we found ourselves at one of the Rosebud Prime restaurants, around the corner from the theatre.    As it was just the two of us, nope, no reservations but we could fit in, because we got there early.  There was another show..Wait, Wait Don’t Tell Me, that was playing Thursday night as well.  For those international folk, it’s a live show that is aired over public radio and really fun.  There were some folk going to that show as well at the restaurant.

Rosebud Prime is (another!) steak and seafood house with Italian bits thrown in for good choices. We started with a Caesar salad..yes please on the anchovies..and they prepared it table side-the old fashioned method, fun but if they had smashed up the anchovies into the dressing it might have been tastier. Instead, they threw a couple on top of our serving, new fashioned I guess.  I had scallops, he had teriyaki salmon.  My scallops were buttery and melted in my mouth. There was a heap of arugula (aka: rocket) and it wasn’t until I had worked my way through some of the greens that I noticed the sauce below-now that with the arugula was super.  Himself said the salmon was delicious, he had spinach with his fish but I think I won the better deal.  We shared grilled asparagus. Yep, this was one of those “it’s-better-to-share-because-side-portions-are-huge” steak places.  And this we noticed with dessert.

Eye roll now…he had gone off and I was alone when the desserts were delivered. Oh no! I had gotten myself into some serious dessert situation. See that Tiramisu on the left? Looks innocent right! Ha! it was a 3 x 3-inch portion, maybe 4 x 4! Holy moley, and the Key Lime pie? Never had we seen a piece that big outside of our dreams. Please note that there was a point at the end of the pie slice, Mr. HP had gotten into it before photos! The waiter, sweetie that he was said that whatever was leftover, we could keep it at the restaurant and pick it up after the show. “Yes” he would put our name on it.   Don’t think I have ever been embarrassed and unable to finish dessert before, maybe once but that’s another story. It really was good. Yes, he finished his pie, NO I didn’t finish my Tiramisu and had them save it.  Glad we ate on the light-ish side, glad too I wore “eating pants” and felt quite comfortable for the theatre and return bus ride sit.

 

Hamilton was playing at another one of those turn of the century theatres: CIBC Theatre is a theater located at 18 West Monroe Street in the Loop area of downtown Chicago. It is operated by Broadway In Chicago, part of the Nederlander Organization. Opened in 1906 as the Majestic Theatre, it currently seats 1800 and for many years has presented Broadway shows. In its early years, the theater presented Vaudeville celebrity acts. (Wiki description)

While we (our group) had “nose bleed” seats in the balcony on right side, they were amazingly good, the acoustics were great and it’s a relatively “small theatre.” At least that was impression as I could clearly see faces distinctly (needed for King George and Thomas Jefferson characters) and could hear clearly. It was sold out-no surprise and on a Thursday night as well, although that probably doesn’t matter a lot, considering the show. I would definitely go again.

Enjoy the photos of the theatre below:

20190124_19103420190124_19101420190124_19100720190124_190917

2 thoughts on “Another date night…Chicago

Leave a comment